Autour De Puno

Puno a accueilli la culture Tiahuanaco (800-1200 AD), la plus haute expression du peuple Aymara qui s’est établis dans ce qui est aujourd’hui le Pérou et la Bolivie; les Incas ont pris ces terres au XVe siècle, les Espagnols ont laissé un important héritage colonial dans toute la région, attiré par l’industrie minière développé sur place.

Aujourd’hui, la ville de Puno (3827 m) est la capitale de folklore du Pérou et de la fête de la Vierge de la Candelaria, et elle se trouve sur les rives du lac Titicaca, le plus haut lac navigable du monde. Les environs sont spectaculaires mettant en évidence Sillustani, un complexe de tours funéraires impressionnantes f construites par Kolla;  Juli, célèbre pour ses magnifiques églises coloniales; Lampa avec son église coloniale construite entre 1675 et 1685; Llachón, communauté qui conserve ses coutumes séculaires et expressions culturelles et Pucara, célèbre pour sa poterie pré-inca et aussi pour les “taureaux de Pucara”.

Le lac contient de nombreuses îles dont les habitants ont conservé les coutumes et les traditions anciennes. Un exemple de ceci sont les Uros, qui vivent sur ​​les «îles flottantes» faites de roseaux artificiellement, et ils naviguent  dans leurs bateaux traditionnels faits  aussi de roseaux. Taquile, Amantani et  Suasi sont connus pour la gentillesse de ses habitants, leur compétence ancestrale du tissage, leurs constructions précolombiennes et des paysages merveilleux. La Réserve Nationale du Titicaca (36180 hectares) protège de vastes roseaux et diverses espèces de flore et de faune.

ALTITUDE: 3827 mètres (Puno).

CLIMAT: La ville de Puno est située sur les rives du lac Titicaca et a un temps froid et semi sec. La saison des pluies débute en Octobre et se termine en Avril. La température moyenne annuelle maximale est de 14 ° C (58 ° F) et au minimum 3 ° C (37ºF).

VOIES D’ACCÈS:

Terrestre: Lima-Arequipa-Juliaca-Puno: 1324 kilomètres (18 heures en voiture).

Aérienne: vols réguliers à destination de Juliaca depuis Lima (1 heure et 45 minutes, avec une escale à Arequipa) et d’Arequipa (25 minutes).

Chemin de fer: Cusco – Puno: 384 km (10 heures).

About Puno

Puno was the territory of the Tiahuanacos (800 A.D. – 1200 A.D.) who were the highest cultural expression of the Aymara people that established themselves in what is today Peru and Bolivia. The Incas took over these lands in the fifteenth century, and the Spanish, attracted by the mining industry developed there, left an important Colonial legacy throughout the entire area.

Today, the city of Puno (3,287 masl), which lies on the shores of Lake Titicaca, the highest navigable lake in the world, is the folklore capital of Peru and the site of the Feast of the Virgen de la Candelaria. In the outskirts, you can visit the spectacular Chullpas de Sillustani, a complex of impressive burial towers built by the Kollas, Juli, famous for its beautiful Colonial churches, Lampa with its vice royal church built between 1675 and 1685, Llachón, a community that still maintains its centuries old customs and cultural expressions, and Pucará, known for its pre-Inca pottery and for the “toritos de Pucará” that the artisans of today create from clay.

The lake contains numerous islands whose inhabitants continue to live as their ancestors have in custom and tradition. The Uros an example of this; this people group lives on “floating islands” that they have artificially made entirely of totora reeds, and they navigate in their traditional boats also made out of totora reeds. Taquile, Suasi, and Amantaní are knows for their kindness of their residents, their ancestral skill in weaving, their pre-Columbian constructions, and lovely countryside. The Titicaca National Reserve (36,180 hectares) protects extensive stretches of totora reeds and various species of plants and animals.

ALTITUDE: 3827 masl / 12.553 fasl

CLIMATE: The city of Puno is located on the shores of Lake Titicaca, and its climate is cold and semi-dry. The rainy season starts in October and ends in April. The annual average maximum temperature is 14ºC (58ºF) and the minimum is 3ºC (37ºF).

ACCESS ROUTES:

By land: Lima – Arequipa – Juliaca – Puno: 1324 km / 823 miles (18 hours by car)

By air: Regular flights to Juliaca from Lima (1 hour and 45 minutes, with a stop in Arequipa) and from Arequipa (25 minutes).

By train: Cusco – Puno: 384 km / 239 miles (10 hours)